Pointed in the Right Direction

As if you all haven’t noticed by now. 2011 is the year of the ballerina. Thank you Natalie Portman and Darren Aronofsky for bringing Ballet to the big screen.

Vogue Russia has caught on to the trend (even though the Russia is known to have several prestigious ballet companies).

Jason Schmidt shoots Denisa Dvorakova for the February issue:

I can’t even pick one photo from this editorial I don’t like.

But let’s take a moment to look at some original prima ballerinas.

Anna Pavlova (1882-1931)

Svetlana Zakharova (1979- )

and of course

The most epic ballerino Mikhail Baryshnikov

I can’t even be mad at all you posers fashionistas doting the ballerina style (tight layers and pastel colors with black) because even though I DID take ballet as a kid and once in college (I got a C) I can’t say I’m a master at the barre myself. So I’ll leave you with the BEST ballet movie of our generation.. equally as thrilling and eye-catching as Black Swan.

About Look At This

Dedicated to promoting the Tech, the Geek, the Art, and Fashion, there is nothing that we won't cover. Everything that makes you want to LOOK AT THIS.
This entry was posted in Editorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

